While on my runs

By waipushrink

Is this the enchanted wood?

I seriously doubt it. The tree which dominates this picture is one of the trees left in that bit of what once was the Grafton Cemetery, and is now a piece of land between an on ramp to the Motorway and Symonds Street, where I was when taking this photograph.

The sunrise this morning on my run was amazing. When I first emerged from the canyon of Karangahape Road and saw it, the sun was a bright orange-red ball hanging in the sky just above the horizon. By the time I got to anywhere that I could have some sort of reasonable shot of it, the image was different, although it was still far more orange than this picture shows. Indeed the sun in this and every other picture I took, is yellow glare. Not being well versed in modifying images, I could not recreate what I actually saw.

I liked best what I have done here which is to increase contrast and increase highlights, and adjust the S curve. This is much darker, and more mysterious than what I saw. Still, I like it. The dotted blue line is from the street lights reflecting off the protective glass panels on Grafton Bridge.

My choice of photo to blip was made more difficult, when (after I had tutued with this image) tonight's sunset was rather good. My desire to post an image from when on my runs won the day over yet another sunset.

S had to head north early this morning and has not been back long when I post this after the New Zealand All Blacks had a solid win over Japan. (Crunch game next week against France.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.