Plus ça change...

By SooB

Hanging about

This, as I'm sure you've guessed, is a string of chillis hanging in front of a light. I knew it wouldn't be long before I'd be calling on their emergency blip potential.

I took the kids to school with every good intention of carrying on to the MBH to do at least a morning's work before coming home to lavish some attention on this filthy house. Somehow, I just couldn't face it, and instead came straight home and curled up with a mug of tea and some digestives for half an hour. There followed a day of washing, cleaning, sorting and cooking, and a short nap.

Now my 'turkey con carne' (I know that name is all wrong, but that's what the kids have chosen to call it) is all gone and pronounced 'brilliant' by Katherine. The only shame is that Conor, who is allergic to beef and is the reason I couldn't cook the proper version, didn't even want to try it. It is so often the way with him, though I'm sure if I ignored his allergies and served beef and white fish every day, he would complain to high heaven about his boring meals of potatoes/pasta/rice. (Actually, complaining to high heaven is something he's been doing a lot of lately. Yesterday he announced that he'd started talking to God. Strangely it is not attending a Catholic school that has brought this about, but rather an Enid Blyton book I read to him recently. The rest of us are not religious at all, but it will be interesting to see where this goes; I'll continue to question and debate whilst trying to neither encourage nor discourage. And if it all gets out of my league, I'll happily pass it along to his Godparents - at least one of whom will be reading this.)

Mr B is back tomorrow, so there'll be some scurrying around tidying and disposing properly of all the pizza wrappers so he doesn't know I've been feeding the kids junk while he's been away. We all hate him being gone, but the last couple of days we've discovered FaceTime on the iPhones - which makes it all much easier. Somehow seeing someone's face makes it all better. (Though I'm not sure Conor's upside down bogey showing face really made Mr B feel homesick at all.)

EDIT: backblipped yesterday.

Another edit: Just a note to self that it was today that Katherine got her first 'credit' at school for copying from the board with no mistakes at all. If they get ten credits, they get a present from the teacher - and Katherine is the first in her year group to get one (according to her!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.