Feeding Time

A family of Pied Shags, Mum, Dad and three very hungry chicks.

I wasn't sure how people would react with this shot but I can't believe I actually captured it. I played in photoshop removing branches but when the work was done it looked horrible - this shot is much nicer, a bit more private, natural and straight from the camera.

For those who know about these things more than I, is there a difference between male and female? The parent which is feeding is a lot slimmer than the other parent.

This was a good part of my day, observing for ages and waiting for feeding time. I knew the other parent had to come sometime but a couple of hours down the track I was beginning to wonder - the remaining parent was getting a little anxious and those little chicks were starving! Don't think they'll be in the nest for too much longer, theres very little room and two of the chicks are very active.

Thats been most of my day and now I must fly as I'm running late. I'll be back later to catch up with your journals - Have a great week :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.