Pied Shag Nest Building

Out and about early this morning getting a few jobs done before the rain and hail hit.

On the way home I called into ]yesterday's spot to check on the chicks, they're still there in the nest and very active. While I was there I watched this Pied Shag gathering nesting material and doing a bit of nest building. He or she wasn't very good at landing on the tree. The branches would sway and tip while he rocked backwards and forwards trying to get his balance - but this time he couldn't quite get his balance and had a little fall but managed to save himself by flying low and gliding into the water. Well, its no wonder he couldn't get his balance with this load!! The next time he was fine.

Many thanks for all your supportive words on yesterday's shot - I was thrilled with the image and had a wonderful time watching and observing. Unfortunately the tree , a willow, is not naturally silver - it is the caustic droppings from soooo many birds. The birds actually strip the new growth off the tree and their droppings burn the tree, eventually over a period of years it dies - this is when the colony moves onto another tree.

For those interested I have more shots and a bit of informationhere of Pied Shags, just use your right arrow for the next image to appear. I guess I should've blipped some of them but didn't really think they were any good until kiwilizzie spotted them :)

I'll head away now - Have a great week everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.