Pied Shag Chicks

Mum and I visited the colony of Pied Shags today, we snuggled into our jackets as the bitter wind whipped round our necks - the sun was shining most of the time and the weather wasn't phasing these young chicks.

I don't think it will be too long before the eldest takes off. Theres been lots of activity in the nest with the eldest flapping its wings and doing balancing acts on the edge of the nest - quite entertaining! Although very active the chicks still have downy coats. The youngest always appears to be starving and looking for food, while the other two are having a wonderful time extending their heads over the edge of the nest and nibbling on the new growth of the willow, its amazing how far they can reach.

Daughter E and her girlfriend E chose this one today - they thought it was ever so cute and I agree :)

Just thought I'd quickly get this loaded before dinner is ready - I'll be back later :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.