Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Kaffir Lily

Another glorious day with blue skies and a warm sun (when out of the the fresh north wind). Is this not what September weather in Scotland is meant to be like?

As well as early morning runs and going out for yet another sail, we pottered about for a while in the garden. Over the past few days I have been admiring a lovely red flower that our next door neighbour gave us about five years ago. Anyway, I decided it would make a good blip and captured it in the morning with rain drops on the petals but didn't like the result. Tried again in the afternoon and took a number of shots in the hope of getting a good one. There were various insects on the flowers including a honey bee. When I reviewed the photos I was delighted to find the bee in flight and about to land on a flower. The choice of blip had been made easy for me.

Not knowing the name of the flower I asked our neighbour who thought it was some kind of Lily but wasn't sure. She later phoned to say she had identified it as a Kaffir Lily. I Googled it and learned that although referred to as a Lily it is in fact of the Iris family. Whatever its name I like its bright colour against the blue sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.