What eye see

By francistaylor

Djerba: Monday

Today was a busy day, we were up early as we were booked in to go horse riding on the beach. Now, bearing in mind I had never been on a horse before I was a little aprehensive to say the least! Normally this activity takes place in groups with other holiday makers but Poppy had worked her magic and managed to get us out with just the two of us and an 'instructor'. I say instructor, but it didnt take me long to realise that the guys English was dier and stretched as far as 'hello' and 'horse'. This was going to be one of the many moments where I would be thankful that Pops was multi-lingual and able to translate instructions to me! It made me wonder how smoothly would a horse riding session would go with two holiday makers who only spoke English with this guy as an 'instructor'. Worrying! Anyway, before I knew it, the horse started to pick up speed along the beach and I was growing in confidence. We then headed through the lagoon on horse back and up a small rocky hill to a view point before returning to the hotel.

I headed straight to the bar for a beer, I didnt care that it was 11am, I was still a little shocked from the mornings excursion and needed to unwind before Lunch.

That afternoon, I thought I'd choose the activity. So... Quad biking it was! This time it was Poppy that was aprehensive! Revenge was sweet until it all went wrong and a rather large french lady (who was later named 'silly french ****' for the rest of the holiday) failed to brake and smashed into the back of Poppys quad and caused her a stiff neck for a few days. I felt slightly bad for suggesting quad biking now as Pops had hurt herself. Maybe we should of listened to our rep Simon (Dale winton wannabe) who warned us 'Quad bikes are dangerous! Wouldnt touch them with a bargepole!' (in a camp voice).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.