Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Woodland bike rides...

... bumpety bump like the rest of the day!

[finished image on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1413684]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

Y'know... I cannot for the life of me remember what I did to this photograph and it was only yesterday that I took it!

I imagine that there was a warm photo filter applied in Photoshop possibly a levels adjustment layer with the midtones boosted by +10. The main thing with this was that pre-shutter, I knew I wanted a fairly narrow depth of field with the children in focus (but Felix sharper than Maddy to give that feeling of them coming towards you into view) and the foreground / background much softer. So, the aperture was wide and set to f/3.5 which gives good sharpness on my 85mm lens. I had the ISO at 200 as the light wasn't that brilliant - they were just in the shade - and to freeze their motion, the shutter was at 1/160".

Sorry for the lack of detail! This is what happens when I don't get around to doing my before and after shots the same day - I forget. Whoops!

Tip of the Day:
For a whole host of tutorials and tips on portrait photography, there are 15 fantastic resources linked to from the designwork.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.