Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Barn...

... on stilts.

[finished image on my [url=http://blipfoto.com/sarahhorrigan]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

This is not the shot I wanted. The one I wanted was a couple of seconds before - when the sun was rising and round and full... and bright orange. But, as I went to take the shot, my battery died and I had to change it. By which point, the sun had disappeared and I ended up with a rescue shot!

So, to rescue it I processed the RAW file twice - once for the foreground, once for the sky. Then copied the sky exposure version onto the foreground one and used a layer mask with a black brush to mask out the bits of the shot I didn't want and end up with a balanced exposure. Then, I used a few other layers - a levels adjustment layer to boost the sky a little (use the polygonal lasso tool to select the right area and feather the selection by about 100 pixels, then create your new layer), another to boost the hue / saturation on the sky and another hue / saturation layer to reduce the foreground saturation and lighten it slightly. Also used a 50% neutral grey overlay layer to dodge some of the detail on the roof.

Flattened and saved. Not a great image, but it'll do!

Tip of the Day:
Kind of a random link today - but one called '10 Top Ways to use different angles in your photography' - having been thwarted by a disappearing sun and a fence which prevented me moving into the position I wanted today... I can but dream about the better shots I might have bagged!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.