As seen by me...

By GrantR

Freeing up from the shackles of equipment

Every now and again, it's nice to leave the camera bag at home, all the filters lenses, tripod etc and just take the minimum you need to take a picture. Today I went with nothing more than the D7000 fitted with the Nikon 50mm f1.8 lens and allowed myself the luxury of the SB-800 flash in my pocket. A fraction of what I would usually hump about.

What all this means, to me anyway, is just photography at it's most basic level. Seeing and getting the shot becomes about, spotting the opportunity and composition. None of the tech stuff, to worry about, pick your settings and press the button. With the 50mm it's not that hard, you want that glorious f1.8 most of the time. But as with any prime, open it up and bit and you see just how fantastically sharp any prime is.

This though was a wide aperture shot, flash on at near minimum power hence the raindrops caught in mid drop. Must get in the city centre and do more of this, lacking inspiration with the lanscapes just now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.