A Canterbury Tail

By Canterbury

Toys

I found myself in the unexpected position of finishing work at a customers site at lunch time today. The sun was shining, the weather glorious and my latest mode of transport is just about run in. I arrived home with the intention of doing a bit of work for another customer, shortlived intention.

The ride home was so nice that I decided to ditch the laptop pack and head out unencumbered. I bought this bike several weeks ago, the idea was to get something I could commute to work on, with the option of heading out somewhere more fun.

I haven't had a motorbike for ages, and never had an offroad capable one before. So it was quite exciting to head out at lunchtime deliberately looking for shingle. I went for a spin down the side of the Waimakariri, a nice easy gravel road without much traffic. Painfully slow but great fun.

I went along the North bank, somewhere I've never been before. I had no idea that there was a motorbike trail area, how lucky is that? On my motorbike, somewhere I've never been and I happen on a dedicated offroad motorbike course. Brilliant fun, my bike is a bit big for hooning all over sand jumps and bumps, at 650cc it's no motorcross bike but what a buzz. I was quite pleased nobody could see how slow I was going, but I still had a ball.

Ain't bunking off work brilliant?

Looking the opposite way without the bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.