just allan

By allan

The best laid plans

I did a bit of numerology (well, cycling about and having a look) before my 200th blip and found no 200s at all. None. So we rolled our own, which turned out to be much better. But I did spot that Arcturus is UL300 - Ullapool registered trawler number 300. So... I've been saving it up. But it's a working boat. It goes out to sea, you see.

This morning I wakened up and checked the weather - beautiful! I dropped the children at school and with the sun from the east (obviously) I hoped to get a shining bright Arcturus with it's big proud 300 glowing in the morning light.

But, it wasn't there. Acht. So, I took some random pictures of cormorants. And I went to Edinburgh and tried to get Platform 3 lined up with my bike wheels as '300', a bit like I did for my 100th. Been there, done that.

Then back to Dunbar about 6pm and as I cycled down to the harbour again I recognised one of the crew - the Arcturus is in! Excellent. And the sun is in the west. And it's getting dark...

So the above is much better than I'd planned and I'd never have got it if the morning plan had worked out. Excellent.

Also, I'm back in the Blip-o-comment fold. I needed a week of not caring who's commenting, so fire in. Or not. Whatever.

A quiet week to look forward to with some days on the bike, some (ahem, "some") wine with friends and films and stuff.

Life goes on.

BTW, more things-of-three: Arcturus is the third brightest individual star (from Earth, obviously). So, there you go. Useless general knowledge that might one day win you The Big Canteen Cash Prize.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.