Waiting

A busy old day at work trying to hit a deadline with another looming. It's that time of year when the spring 2012 books go to production and the new books are being developed for the Frankfurt bookfair in October. It all seems to happen at once!

I had to cycle home in the dark for the first time in months - the nights are drawing in! Don't be alarmed, though. I worked late so I wasn't cycling in the dark at my normal going home time. Still, it was a shock that it was so dark so early.

I noticed this morning that there were more cyclists than I'd ever seen on my route into London. I'm used to cyclists around Waterloo, but today the ATS boxes were filled to overflowing with bicycles at Dulwich and Camberwell - I'm used to being only one of two cyclists in an ATS in zone 2. It was great, especially since the majority of the cyclists were women. Boris is planning to raise transport fares so I expect to see many, many more cyclists pedalling through the streets in the not-too-distant future. The more cyclists there are, the safer it will be. The cars had to slow right down today and I confidently took the lane - I do this anyway where I need to, but it feels better when there are two or three fellow cyclists doing exactly the same around me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.