My Year in Pictures

By jenny

A story of coincidences

Backblipped 21st September

For the speech he gave on our wedding day, my daddy pulled together the story of coincidences around James and I.

My maternal grandad was in the RAF and, when my mum was one, was based at RAF Upper Rissington and lived in Little Rissington. We now live in Great Rissington and all 3 villages are just 5 minutes apart in the car.

My maternal great granny lived in Faithful House in her later years. A care home that was just round the corner from my old house in Cheltenham. And just after my dad's proposal he was "interviewed" by her at The George Hotel in Cheltenham.

Our home is called Oakland House and James's paternal granny lived in a house in Cheltenham called Oaklands.

My paternal granny's maiden name is Stewart, so I've gone back to my roots by taking James's surname.

I reckon that's quite a good set of coincidences for a girl born in Perth and a guy born in Hong Kong who happened to meet in a dodgy nightclub in Cheltenham just over 12 years ago.


PS. And one that didn't make the speech is that The George Hotel is now the location of the monthly dinner I go to. Which is where I was last night. Without a blip at 10.20pm!







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.