What eye see

By francistaylor

David O'Connell AKA Phobea

So.... Since my return from Djerba, I have been slacking with taking photos for Blip.. But... I'm back now and a little bit gutted about having a gap in my journal but hey, what can I do? Ive been busy with getting things sorted at home, at work and getting back into my body-building training.... And doing lots of eating!

The photo above was taken tonight at one of the youth centres that I work in, The Searchlight. The pic features two young people who go by the names of Phobea and T money (David and Taulin), some talented up and coming music artists. David is in his late teens and Taulin early twenties. I have worked with David for a long time now and although as a youth worker, I shouldnt have favourites, without a shadow of a doubt, he is my favourite. I'm very proud to be working with such a positive individual who I really want to get somewhere with what he does in life! He has had the odds stacked against him throughout his life and still maintains a positive attitude and pushes himself in what he does. In short, he deserves success!

Recentley, David has been nominated for 'The Spirit of London Award' for music and performing arts. On the 10th of October we will be making our way to The Royal Albert Hall, suited and booted for the award ceremony. We will be rubbing shoulders with the celebs and hopefully celebrating David's success on the evening! Fingers crossed!

One of the first pieces of work that David produced with Kingston Youth Service is featured below... It is a track dedicated to his mother who is sadly no longer with us and his father who was very unwell at the time... Enjoy! (This actually touched me the first time we watched it and I almost shed a tear!)....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6ZQOHweffU

David's next production with the service can be found below... This track is all about hindsight (which is what the track is entitled)... A story about a young man growing up and making mistakes and then looking back on them with regret and looking at how things could of been different... Positive stuff! One of my favourite pieces of work that I've been involved in....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5aEFHkvMsI&feature=related

And finally.... The most recent project we completed... A track entitled 'Need a change'...... Anyone recognise who the female vocalist might be?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MkXmpNacWS4&feature=related

Look out for David in the future.. This kid's going places!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.