Way of Life

By wayoflife

Tokyo

How's this for rock and roll? Today I attended the 44th All Japan Plasterers Competition! Well, when I say attended, I mean stumbled across on the way up to take today's blip, which by the way is a rainstorm inching its way across Tokyo.

So for the competition, as far as I could gather, each team had to plaster a booth to a specified design and then the judges would choose the best one. The only thing was that every booth was identical so when you walked around it was the same thing over and over. Someone had plastered up a 3D dragon at the entrance, though, which was kind of cool. Since I know nothing about plastering, are there any plasterers out there who would care to let us know some of the finer points of plastering for next year's competition?

And in an update to yesterday's tale of getting all my kit wet, despite some late night shocks of finding that my battery charger and everything inside my camera bag had also received a soaking, amazingly, everything made it through the typhoon in one piece. My new 80-200 mm lens though, even though it made it through the typhoon, didn't quite make it through the collision with the shitty old man in the train station. I discovered this morning that the A/M selector on the lens has cracked and may fall off at some point. The lens is still useable but until I can get it fixed I'll have to be careful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.