The Day I....

By Paega

The Day I Watched The Factory Die

I used to work here. My Dad worked here too, as did Mum, my son, my aunt, even my sister during one summer holiday. This is where I met my wife.In total I spent a quarter of a century working at this site. We didn't really register it at the time but we were changing the world.

The site had its failures for sure. The Squarial satellite dish was first made here. Fixed Wire Access seen as a way to avoid using BT's final link to the customer was also built and died here.

But the site had great successes too. Components of the army's ptarmigan system were built here as were numerous valves, capacitors and pacemakers.

Its heyday was the 90's and the boom in fibre optics. At this time the site employed thousands of people.

In 2001 the internet bubble well and truly popped and the site's demise started. Although employed by the same company I moved into a more corporate role working from my home office and soon after that the site was sold to a competitor who gradually moved the technology over to China and a cheaper labour force.

In recent days it has been host to discount clothing outlets, car boot sales and a gym. A shadow of its former technological glory.

Look at it now. The art deco frontage has all been ripped down, the panelled boardrooms are in some reclaim yard, the 1950's swimming pool full of rubble. The flag is gone, all that's left is a flagpole defiant against the digger.

Goodbye old friend. I was glad to leave you but it's a shame to see you go out like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.