The Day I....

By Paega

The Day I Went To Lydford Gorge Then Was Baffled

Went to Lydford Gorge today and took some fantastic pictures of moss covered trees, fungi, winding and bubbling streams, tangled tree branches and of course the fantastic 90 foot waterfall. I was really pleased with the waterfall shots. I spent a long time composing them so that they would give a real impression of the power of the water thrusting its way through the gorge.

Imagine my surprise when I got back to the entrance and I checked my photos whilst enjoying a cream tea. Aside from yesterday's photos, only two pictures of toadstools were on the card. I was devastated. Well you have to take these things on the chin and lacking the energy for another one and a half hour walk I just snapped some photos of the entrance assuming I had cocked up.

I checked them before getting in the car and they were okay. Nothing special but at least they had the Lydford Gorge sign. By the time I got home they had disappeared as had my toadstool pics. So I was left with not a single shot.

Running through an image recovery program it could see the images were taken but it failed to recover them. I don't really know what has happened. I have taken tens of thousands of digital images and never come across this before. It was either a fault on the card or less likely I have a problem on the camera. So the card is formatted, a picture taken and here you go..... Lydford Gorge.

Next day out I take some photos with the compact too!

Anyone got a hug?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.