Wisdom Begins In Wonder

By bobzilla

I spook easily

You can start to guess what my days are like at the moment. Unpack this box, move that bit of furniture, lift small child out of way of falling pot plant. It writes itself almost.

I was determined today to try something new for my blip. I had a list of things I thought I might give a go but as the day went on and the sunlight went away I was left with only two choices. Night photography or astrophotography. The later seriously intrigues me. I studied astronomy for a year at school and would love to be able to take decent photos of the night sky. I live in Scotland though so cloudy skies are the norm for me and so I had to rule that one out as well.

So night photography it was. I thought I'd head out the road into the trees and woods behind our house and see what I could see. I was hoping for a nice cityscape of Glasgow or the lights from the planes coming into Glasgow airport to lighten up my trip but I could barely see either.

I learned that it's one thing thing to say your going to go out and do it it's another thing to actually get out there and focus on anything using just a kit lens seeing as it has no focal distances on the lens and the lenses I left in the house do. I was banking on the fact the kit lens opens up to f3.5 I think where as most of my other lens barely go below f4.5-f5.6.

Anyway I took a few shots and then started to hear things. At one point I had convinced myself that wee green gremlins were sneaking up on me to eat me or something. I cut the walk short and made my way home only to find the noises I was hearing were coming from two guys having a fight on the main road near my house. I completely forgot that noise likes to travel far at night.

So anyway this is todays shot. Not perfect but given it's my first attempt I'm happy with it and will probably give it another go next time it's dry. I could maybe have gotten away with a shorter exposure and fixed the blurred branches moving in the wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.