Still Alive

By rinkkasatiainen

Needing a nap

Change of plans. Taking new route to Loktajávri and spending there two nights.

Finally sleeping well, from 2am. Unsafe yet sleepy.

It rained during the night. And a very little in the morning. Wake-up at 7am, leaving around 9:30 (don't know quite the exact time - feeling relaxed and all).

I felt better than the previous morning. Not so sore throat.

Continuing from where we left the other day. Me again walking somewhere in the middle. Leena had found her spot on the formation making me safe - there's someone in the back who I really trust. And I felt safe to hang around in the middle of the group. Learning with the group on how to read map, how to locate ourselves and how to plan next steps.

I thought during the day that I should've thanked the group yesterday for specific behavior we did extremely well. Yet the idea of saying that today felt a bit cumbersome. So I did not. And I forgot it.

Walking west of Uhca Erttetvárri and crossing Erttetvárjohka on cloudy weather. Again having a break next to the river was a good plan. Me finding a safe route and them having a break.

Lunch at nearby lake on a cloudy and very windy weather. I did measure my body temperature and found it a bit too high. Never before have I felt worse after a lunch break than before.

I did not quite have the energy to concentrate on helping others to orienteer. Instead I decided to lead the group - at my pace.

I've never eaten so much snacks during a hiking day as I did during the next 45min sprint.

Leena called for a break next to a little stream. I had a little nap and ate snacks. Started to feel better.

Early at the lake Loktajávri. We should've left our bags to locate a perfect spot for our tents (or to one tent, to be exact). That's what I planned, but did not succeed in execution. No excuses - not from me.

Luckily the girls decided to do that themselves and found a perfect spot for their tent - there was an osier in the middle of the fields. A perfect cover from wind. And there was a lot of it around.

I decided not to go to swimming - fever and a heavy wind would not have been too good combination.

Bed early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.