LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Memories of Biarritz

I bought this about five years ago from an elderly woman who was selling fossils and trinkets at a stall near the beach in Biarritz. It was a work related trip but the little free time I did have was spent walking around town taking photos with a wee point and press. I can remember the afternoon like it was yesterday, walking round churches and along the beach and finding an excuse to stop at every patisserie I spotted. I remember lighting a candle for my dad in a church and sitting watching it for what seemed like ages but could only have been a few minutes.

This normally sits on the dining table in our house. It reminds me of one of the best meals I have ever had in a little restaurant in a village near the French/Spanish border. We had been touring the region in Citreon 2CVs. The rain was torrential and was starting to leak through the hood/roof to the point where we had to put waterproofs on. When we arrived at the restaurant we were greeted with big bowls of Axoa - a Basque farmers dish and big chunks of bread. Simple, but fantastic. When we got back to the 2CV the seats had puddles on them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.