Bricks and mortar, that's all we need

On Sunday they are demolishing these flats on the west of Edinburgh. People lived in them families grew up in them thousands of tales, some happy some sad, like in every street on the planet, the dreams of town planners as they are past their sell by date. These were homes that people like you and I lived in. I always feel a bit sad when buildings get pulled don but you have to be optimistic that what will replace them will be a new start for people.

I think I have probably always known these flats, even though I am from a different part of town. I have gone past them on and off for the last 12 years and every time I do I look at them.

Despite the fact that for the last few weeks and months they have been gutted in preparation for the demolition, they will come down in a matter of seconds.

15°

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.