The last supper

Today we had the last supper at a table which I have always known.

I'm not sure whether the table and chairs were a wedding gift that my parents received, or whether it was something which they bought when they moved into the house over 50 years ago. All I know is that I loved this table and chairs, I ate at it, we did homework at it, wrote letters at it, spoke at it, ate chicken wings behind closed curtains in my pre-vegetarian days, laughted at it, cried at it, was told not do something or other while at the table, told others not do something or other while at the table, played table tennis on it, played subbuteo on it, monopoly, scrabble and a multitude of other games. Drawings, paintings, art and crafts, but especially food. I can't begin to count the number of meals I have eaten at this table.

So out with the old and in with the, erm, probably just as old. We had a delivery of the new old table and ten minutes later the new owners of our table came to collect it.

A sentimentalist, me? Clearly

11°

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.