Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

Splash Landing

Took the scenic route home from the barbers and had a walk along the canal on my day off.

As I got onto the canal there were two swans with about 5 cygnets, almost as big as the swans, gliding towards me.

It was like a showdown at High Noon. In what seemed like slow motion my right hand went for the camera, thumb ready to switch it on in one swift motion, dropping to my knee as I did so.

At the same time the canal based family began to run on the water... their wings flapped, their necks stretched, I could actually hear 'Ride of the Valkyries'. My heartbeat quickened as the camera rose to eye level as the beasts rose! Now! Now! Nooooooo!!!!! As I saw that on the camera screen was the last picture I had taken, to my despair I had left it switched to Playback Mode. I hadn't even noticed the lense hadn't whirred into action.

Hands shaking I switched it to camera mode but it was too late. I couldn't zoom in time, I was a wobbly mess of nerves.

But... as I looked away another swan was coming in to land and I managed, despite the shaking hands, to blip.

I also managed to get some lovely heron shots this morning, and I've had a couple of hours of blip dilemma, but I like to think that the swan that landed for me did it out of some kind of sympathy and therefore deserves his place in blip. Even if he did float towards me in a very menacing manner afterwards.

I've processed this a bit as I didn't have time to zoom in or change any camera settings. It was a grey canal and very dull so I've cropped it, black and whited it (in case you hadn't noticed) and darkened it slightly or the swan was just a white blob!

Have good weekends everyone :o)

EDIT: Heron photo's are here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.