The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Millennium Bridge

The Millennium Bridge across the River Lune in Lancaster.

Work started on the bridge 1999, but complications with building it delayed its opening until 2001. The bridge is designed to provide a safe and easy crossing of the river for cyclists and pedestrians..

I've never seen it close up before, so while I waited for my connection to Crewe, there was just time for a brisk walk there and back.

It would have been my Mum's 87th birthday today. I was hoping to take a photo of the bird she loved so much, the robin. But with being in meetings all day once I got to Crewe there was no opportunity to find one, and there was no sign of our garden robin when I came home in the late afternoon.

And when I came home, Bob the Cat was not waiting in the lane for the car like he normally does. He appeared about 10 minutes later, limping badly, unable to support his weight on his right fore paw, and with a bloody wound on his left shoulder. We're not sure whether he's been beaten up by another cat, or whether he's had an episode with a dog. All a bit distressing though. So we shall have to try and get him to the vet tomorrow morning.

Wifie had a bit of an ordeal too at the dentists today, round 1 in the root filling of the tooth in which she had an abcess back in August. Over an hour in the dentist's chair.

On a positive note, tomorrow the Arnside & Silverdale AONB Landscape Trust Photographic Exhibition opens. I have had 8 photographs selected across the 9 categories. So Wifie and I will be going to take a look tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.