The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Cloud over Whitbarrow

A day of heavy showers from mountainous clouds interspersed by breaks of bright sunshine. It was raining heavily when I got up, but as I drove along the Sandside Road, the rain stopped and the cloud broke in a few places.

This looks directly across the Kent estuary to Whitbarrow whose sloping top is hidden under cloud. Whitbarrow is a monolith of Carboniferous limestone, part of the discontinuous ring of limestone around the Lake District. It's a prominent feature of the estuary standing in the foothills to the Lakes, rich in the plants of the limestones and populated by ravens and peregrines.

After a morning at work in Kendal, the rest of the day was in Barrow working up ideas for a photography project on the theme of Traces of Barrow. This will mean taking a lot of shots of places and objects that I would not normally photograph, so it should challenge me out of my deeply established comfort zone.

After a lot of deliberation and after my wobble two weeks ago when I said I had decided to become an occasional blipper, I have been reflecting again. At the moment there isn't time between finishing work and going to bed to do all the many things that need doing. Our house is in turmoil after months of building jobs and decorating, we stll have scaffolding ouside after nearly two years, and there are tasks to complete in the garden.

So I've decided to take a blip holiday for a couple of weeks to catch up with other things. I will come back because I have enjoyed this website and its community so much, and there will be more time for it as the evenings draw in and outdoor activities are curtailed. I may have learned a few new things by then.

Wifie's choice is here. Should I have followed her advice? After all she is infallible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.