Willllwynbedw

By willllwynbedw

Yes - yesterday was Friday!

This is Steve Andrews on lead sax and clarinet with the Lez Bull Jazz Band at Burgundy's on thursday night. With that beard, specs and wispy hair my pencil was on the go in the first jazz number but most importantly I was mesmerised by his solos and improvisation. For obvious reasons the fronting jazz musicians feature mostly in my sketches - generally clarinet, sax, trombone and guitar. Drums and double base players are a real challenge but I was inspired to paint Paul Guppe on his new electric double base - the challenge was that Lez Bull and his trumpet was between me and Paul - so quite a challenge. Paul's sketch is on www.watercolourjazz.co.uk under the Burgundy Wine Bar Gallery. Ironically I did not get round to posting this yesterday as I was painting the gutters and downpipes of our house with my son Tim - Hamerite metal paint - not water colours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.