Northern Exposure

By Northern

Stone

Had to pop into the Cathedral today to do some research.

I am always amazed that whenever I go in I find something I haven't really noticed before. Today I was paying particular attention to the memorial stones which line the walls. The cathedral dates from 1137 but I was intrigued by the stones from the late 1600s as there was a definite look to them. I wondered if this was just the fashion of the era. Or if it was the style of the local stonemason.

Either way, they are beautiful and having a good look at them was an interesting way to pass an hour or so.

On a slightly different note (as tomorrow is Norwegian Constitution Day)... a lot of the Norse Earls of Orkney had really cool nicknames. Such as Sigurd the Powerful, Harald Smooth-tongue or probably the meanest name ever - Thorfinn Skull-splitter. And normally it is pretty easy to see why they might have earned their name. But can anyone tell me why Havard Thorfinnsson c 976 - 991 was called... Havard Harvest-happy


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.