Between Brushstrokes

By felicitypapp

Foreshadowing

If I had to describe this shiny, waist high plastic figurine to someone else without showing them a picture, I'd probably tell them to picture a love child of Disney and Murakami, lightly dipped in hallucinogenic goth.
I should have seen it as a warning and not gone through the entrance it was guarding. I should have known that things would not get any better from that point on.

But there were four of us and I wasn't going to be the one who'd thwart everyone's plans by breaking hard with my boots and leaving skid marks on the polished floor.
So I ignored my spider sense and tagged along, passing through the gates of hedonism, walking into a giant room with high ceilings, mirrors on the walls and marble topped, brightly lit tables in the center.

Here I would encounter an eclectic selection of animals not usually found in the same enclosure, and that should have been my second warning: Ostrich, Gazelle, Sheep, Cow, Pig, Duck, Chicken and Kangaroo, as well as several sea creatures.
No one would think of herding them together because they don't harmonize.

It's just not a harmonious, trust inducing assortment; not in an animal park and not in this establishment: not in a restaurant.

I decided to not put my assessment of the situation to the ultimate test and see if they would get along any better in my stomach.
I chose a bunch of vegetables to be thrown on one of the hot plates that were manned by a crew of eager to serve grill commanders.

In the end, all went well. The ambiance left a bit to be desired and they were out of Koala meat, but at least no one got sick.

And in case you were wondering about the nationality of plastic prozac Minnie at the entrance... she's Mongolian. Supposedly.


shot on Fuji Instant film (FP-3000B) with a Polaroid Model 355

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.