Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mighty Heart

I still have several hummingbirds hanging out in the yard, which delights me. They are most likely this year's babes, getting fat for their long trip. Since I put up the seed feeders this week, it seems to have made the little hummers less spooky and this one was only about 6 feet from me. Hard to mess up a photo from that distance, eh?

I started the day hoping to get a good photo of one of the nuthatches, but I just couldn't pass up another hummingbird. They just touch me on some level that is hard to explain - it must be their mighty hearts.

Actually, I missed a splendid blip opportunity this morning when I looked out and saw a black bear ambling through our yard into the woods. Too bad my camera battery was in the charger, rather than the camera! By the time I got it, the bear was off into the woods. We've seen this one twice in the last few weeks, so you may yet see him on blip. And, in the meantime, I shall not be wandering in the woods!!

PS After I blipped this, I got a shot that I took from below one of the hummers - an angle I've never gotten before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.