In passing

By passerby

Non-uniform

To be honest, this is not a very good photo. It is a quick saturday blip from my balcony when I decided to stay indoors.

Given the book I am reading, I am not filled with the happiest thoughts. And what I see outside my balcony mirrors my mind. The sun is not shining uniformly on each leaf of the tree. Some are more lit up that the others. And obvious as it is, the brightest one catches the eye. There are different amounts of light and shadow on each one of them. All are swaying in the breeze and I make no attempt to freeze them. Let them move. The sun is slowly receding as well. It is this unevenness, that forms a beautiful pattern, the fact that each one is different. And they bring their differences together to say something that seems profound to me. Each leaf belongs to the same tree, are yet is separated by fate from all the others.

I often say, "You sow a thought, you reap an action, you sow an action, you reap a habit, you sow a habit, you reap character, you sow a character, you reap your destiny." I first heard this a very long time back when our principal in school read it out during morning assembly, after prayer.

In one of my favourite movies, someone said something else: "Conviction is a luxury only people at the sidelines can afford."

The previous saying holds true for me. I am at the sidelines. To so many others it is a luxury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.