shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Matrioshki

Given the rotten weather this afternoon, my planned wander in the park didn't happen, so I had some fun playing with my 50mm lens. And what better subject for an exercise in dof than a set of matrioshki, or Russian dolls.

Have been having a good laugh watching Russian TV on YouTube this afternoon, there is a show called ProjezhektorParisHilton, which basically consists of 4 guys sitting round a table chatting about what's in the news, usually with celebrity guests, sometimes daft skits and a musical number. It is much, much funnier than it sounds. They recently did a viewer survey and discovered that the most popular celebrity guest ever was Hugh Jackman. And he was fantastic - last summer I had a Russian friend and her niece staying, and they introduced me to the programme, and made me watch the one with him. As he's back in Russia at the moment promoting Real Steel, they got him back on last night, and it was great. As I type this I am watching another one from May with Ingeborga Dapkunaite and John Malkovich, also very funny. Every now and then I wallow in all things Russian, and miss life there even more than usual! This weekend has definitely been such a time. I blame Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy - so thank you Mr Alfredson, much appreciated!

PS If you have time, do have a look at last year, it's one of my favourite shots ever!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.