a town called E.

By Eej

Denial



Even for someone like me, for whom denial is more a lifestyle than a state of mind, it's hard to ignore the signs of autumn. It's easier in the backyard where the maple is holding on to its leaves like its life is depending on it, but in the front and sideyard all pretence has been abandoned.
On top of it all it rained. All day. Sometimes hard, sometimes a drizzle, but constant.

I cleaned out a bit of the garage, cleaned up a bit of the bedroom.
The Beloved said:"You don't HAVE to be productive every hour of every day, you know!"
And I'm not. I'm a lazy procrastinator.
But I always feel guilty when I'm not being useful. And some days I care not for the guilt.
And some days I do.

In all the dreariness, these black-eyed susans (I think) are shining bright. I am ignoring autumn in pretty browns and reds for these little bits of summery sunshine.
Until even my denial folds under the pressure of a million fallen leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.