LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

The Tower Ballroom

We are just in the door from a weekend in Blackpool, down at the Pleasure Beach yesterday for my wee girl's birthday treat. Went to the Tower today which is in the process of being renovated. The stat that got me was that 143 tonnes of paint have been stripped off the tower structure. That's a fair amount of paint!

Ask anyone who knows me and they will tell you - I am no dancer. For the first dance at my wedding, I shuffled about the dance floor trying not to step on my wife's dress. Avoided ripping the dress but Strictly Come Dancing it was not. However, I always pop into the amazing Ballroom when visiting the Tower and I am a big admirer of those that can carry off a wee waltz. My mum was telling me that my gran and grandad danced in this ballroom once upon a time and were actually quite good. My grandad was a footballer too. I didn't inherit either the dancing skills or the football talent unfortunately! Although that didn't stop me trying a few wee moves today...in the wings, well away from the good dancers or spectators!

Good weekend, great to spend some decent time away with my girls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.