LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Talisker

A very odd day. Technically a day off with the bank holiday, but I ended up working for most of it due to poor diary management from me. When you've been out of the office for the last month, you forget about wee things like office holidays and end up booking in meetings.

When I did get finished, I drove home via the Falkirk Wheel, which I see most days from the motorway but have never visited. Glad I did - some nice views of the Forth & Clyde canal, got to see the wheel in action (pretty cool when it looks like a boat going up in an elevator!) which was going to be today's blip and also got some nice shots of the canal boats.

But yet again, the intended blip gets replaced by something I didn't expect to see, in this case a steam boat called,the Talisker.

It was on the back of a trailer rather than in the water and as I was walking back to the car, I peered over the side where a man, presumably the owner Tom Peebles, was tweaking various bits and bobs on it (you can tell I am quite technically minded eh!). In the spirit of being bolder, I asked him if I could take a few photos and he agreed. He even asked if I wanted the steam turned on so that I could get a better picture. I think it was a more technical term for what he did but you know what I mean!

I am sure I'll get another chance to blip the Falkirk Wheel, but might not see the Talisker again. I quite like the pressure gauge too - very apt. I have just been told it will cost me £900 to get my car repaired - my blood pressure gauge is probably sitting at more than 100 as I type this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.