Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Monks Barn

Today has been a busy day, but during a break this afternoon I went for a short walk into the village. I took my camera and photographed several things, but decided to post Monks Barn. It is a shame about the modern television pole holding the aerial attached to the chimney. I did think I would clone it out, but I am not very good at cloning, so it stays!

It is a Grade II listed building which was built in the fifteenth century. It features on the very few postcards that are available for Newport in Essex. It is a 'Wealden Hall' type house and is a type of vernacular medieval timber-framed yeoman or priest's house. These were traditionally built in Kent, where there are a large number; why this one is in Essex I do not know. It features an oriel window which is supported by a carved wooden bracket.

If you want to know more, further information can be found at this web site. .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.