Off Centre

By RachelCarter

When I Got Home...

There's a book by Jill Murphy called 'On The Way Home' about a girl who hurts her knee and can't tell anyone what really happened because she knows it will make her cry. So she waits until she gets home and tells her mum. The minute she does, she bursts into tears from the delayed shock and sadness.

Tess got a bump on the head at school today, when someone accidentally opened the door in her face. She didn't tell anyone. She's feeling sad anyway because her best friend has gone on holiday and she says she doesn't have anyone else to play with.

She helped herself to a snack and got changed for swimming and then I saw a big bump on her forehead. The second I asked her how she got it, her bottom lip began to tremble and she found it difficult to talk through the tears. She says she didn't tell anyone at school and she didn't cry.

I'm not sure I want her to be that brave, poor thing. How sad that no one else saw and she felt she had to pretend it didn't happen.

She's had a cry and a hug and is much better now.

In other news:
The 16-year-old barfed and had a day off college, the dog farted, the husband surfed, the 14-year-old grunted, and I tried to follow a 'to-do' list. I think I might have set my sights too high!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.