creative lenna

By creativelenna

my dad and mundy

A photo of a photo that is on my studio wall. My dad is on the left and his friend Mundy is on the right. I like this photo, circa 1954 or 1955? Before I was born, definitely. One summer dad joined his friend Mundy to go out west and work on a dude ranch in Wyoming where Mundy had worked for many years. They were both at Amherst college then. I believe the cowboy hat my dad is wearing is still around and I bet the belt buckle is too. Dad told my husband Steven when telling him about the experience, that he had to learn quick that summer!

I spent time with my dad today so mom could go out and do errands, but mostly just sitting quietly next to him while he was in bed, watching the news with him. Even though it is hard to see him fade, I am glad to be here, helping out as I can. I love thinking of him as a strong, young man working on the dude ranch and that is probably why I especially love this photo now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.