Swings 'n' roundabouts

By LincDispImgs

Lunch time view from my window

Well, it's that time of year again .. small, and not so small children hurl broken branches and anything else they can find into horse chestnut trees in order to dislodge the conkers securely attached to the parent branches.

Its been happening since time immemorial and will no doubt continue into the future if the local councils are held at bay ..

Anyway, while parked and enjoying my lunch today, at the side of the road in a side street in deepest darkest Nottingham I was informed exactly what type of tree I was parked under .. by the loud, reverberating sound of a conker landing on my van roof. I watched it bounce, roll and finally settle on the pavement alongside me and it set me thinking about the fragility of life, creation and the existence of natural objects in our world, our country, our city, our street and even our back garden. From a humble conker to a mighty Red Kite that I also saw on the way home each has been created, and each has its part to play in our lives .. no one item is more important, no one item less necessary ...

If only society could view society in the same way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.