Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Sea Buckthorn

This plant, the fruit of which is apparently efficacious in lowering cholesterol, is one I have only ever seen on this stretch of coastline at Glenfinart Bay, Ardentinny, a village north of Dunoon, Argyll. Apparently the Ancient Greeks fed their horses on the leaves because it gave their coats a glossy sheen.
However, I knew of it first because of the title of a song by Francis George Scott, and identified this plant as the one in the song on the very last time I walked with my father along the path we took this afternoon, in the autumn of 1977. He died a month later, and I can never see the bright orange berries hiding among their foliage on a misty autumn afternoon without being reminded of that day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.