Day By Dave

By daybydave

St Albans 8am.

This morning I had to drop some friends off at Luton Airport at 5.30. By 9.00 I was due to visit my mum in St Albans. So I headed there as soon as I could and decided to look for today's blip. There were no suitable sunrise shots to be had so I headed for one place in St Albans I've never visited. The Cathedral.

Alban was a British-Romano citizen at around the end of the 3rd century BC. He heard the word and converted to Christianity. Did the normal thing of upsetting the Romans and ended up being beheaded. Various amazing acts took place surrounding him and his relics. A century or so later a shrine sprang up to him. In the 8th century a monastery was built and then in the 12th century a Norman church a small portion of which is still left. From then on the site developed over the centuries. So many were the changes and additions it is actually impossible to say when the Cathedral was built.

So for the last 12oo years plus there have been services held throughout the day and as I wandered round from within came the sound of the Sung Eucharist. By 8.30 it was over and young boys of the Cathedral choir came rushing out to get to school on time. Even St Alban himself can't protect you from detention!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.