running commentary

By Stesedthat

Old Blue car

I know a lot about drains, a bit about photography, a lot about training to run fast and a bit about the Cumbrian fells.

But I know nowt about cars.

However, when I saw this little Blue one in a garage today I knew instantly it would be my Blip. The chap I was working for later emailed me the following brief history of what I undersstand to be a rather special little motor.

This car is a vintage Singer 10 /26 made in 1925. Shortly after it was first purchased its original owner accidently knocked down his favourite dog with it and was so upset that he took it off the road so it ended up being stored in a shed for the next 40 years. Fortunately the shed was full of bails of cotton which helped to preserve it, so when it was rediscovered in 1964 it was still in very good condition.

More recently the car was owned by Ian Morton who was a keen member of the Singer Owners Car Club. It has attended numerous car rallies and motor sport events as well as providing the bridal transport at several weddings.


Thanks Michael

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.