Live/Love/Smile

By Shonie

I have the Diabetes...Type 1 to be specific.

This is all my daily stuff that I use as a type one diabetic, so thought it appropriate to make part of my blip experience. The red pen is my fast acting insulin which I take before meals or whenever I snack the other stuff is all blood testing kit which tells me my blood glucose levels. The amount of insulin I take depends on my meal, for example: 2 brown pieces of toast weigh roughly 40-45g or carb (give or take the brand) so for every ten units of carb I take I give myself 1 unit of fast acting stuff. So my two pieces of brown toast is 4 or 5 units of insulin.... it can seem complicated. Some things are easy, things that I like obviously; baked potatoes are 80g of carb for a mediumish one so thats 8units. I also take a long acting insulin - or otherwise known as base insulin - it lasts 24 hours and keeps a small percentage of insulin in my body all the time.
I have had diabetes for 5 years and I will admit for me personally, it is a daily struggle. A struggle to check my blood, to remember oh crap I ate a banana I need a shot.... to just be on top of it all can be tough. But... its my life and you learn to accept it, never understand it but in some way you learn to go with it and it had made me a very different person and my approach to life has changed. I want to be in charge of my diabetes and not the other way round. So the battle continues :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.