But whatever you do, do not look down

For vertigo sufferers like myself and Madame, we took the rather strange step this afternoon of confronting one of our deepest fears, sort of head on.

Today is a special day for us, 11 years married, 19 years an ensemble (oh yes, get married on your going out anniversary and never forget that first date date ever ever again, unless you are truly abysmal at retaining dates, that is). So having deposited children at the child minder and having dispensed with a couple of mundane tasks, it was off to do things we wanted to do.

First up Calton Hill, remarkably I have hardly ever been up there, with my favourite hill being 5 minutes from my house, could be my only excuse, then the mixed but sometimes stunning David Mach exhibition. Have to say I prefer the scultpures he does, some of the collages were brilliant, some a bit samey. Then after a coffee in the sunlight, a very nice meal in a French restaurant with no French cooks, how ironic. They were very nice and explained how they made one of the sauces and even let me take some photos.

Then we were wandering towards another art gallery and we decided to go up the Scott Monument. I have, to my shame never been up there, I think I know why, but I shall force myself up again. It is quite breathtaking.

After another exhibition, some clotes purchasing and another coffee, it was time to pick up children.

Child #2 with her usual combination of humour and the potential worst case scenario, which would not be amiss in Outnumbered, wondered what it would be like if one was sick over the edge, and it went over a bird's head, well maybe not the worst case scenario.

A truly stunning day with the woman I love and a completely glorious

22°

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.