Facing the Day

When you try to go it alone, the thoughts that run around in circles in your mind become like a one way street. You didn't plan to go that direction, but you just don't have a choice.

Heading into the new day, on my way to have breakkie with two very special ladies, I choose to face the day instead of running from it. You know, I really don't know anyone who never needs a little encouragement from friends. This was my day. It seemed my perspective on a few things got all out of wack at one time. This was the day to share and ask for feedback. It's a good thing to do sometimes, and these were the right ladies to do it with.

I shared a story about a pepper shaker. It was a substantial one, molded glass, and the bottom just broke off at the slightest tap and all the pepper flew out before my hand reached the egg I was about to season. This happened a couple of days ago, but it was a really profound moment for me. I didn't realize that the tiny tap I had felt when the shaker hit a jar on the way by, must have hit a 'fault line' and the bottom just stayed behind on the counter while the pepper sprayed all over my feet and across the counter. It happened so fast, that I didn't realize it and tried to shake the pepper on the egg. I was mystified as I stared at the shaker that looked normal on the top, but was bottomless with nothing inside. Instantly, I thought of my life. I want to be on a firm foundation that doesn't get knocked off at the slightest tap. I don't want all the good flavor of my life to just drain out in an instant if something shakes me up. Truly, it was just about the quickest thought I've ever had in the morning....mornings aren't my strong suit.

Anyway, for the next few days after that, it seemed that I was saying and doing many things that seemed to upset others and I was getting feedback about that. I felt a bit shaken and tempted to react by recoiling and avoiding people (OK, so I'm human). But every time I was tempted to follow through, I thought of the pepper shaker and I prayed I wouldn't be like that. I prayed I would have the courage to face each new day and even the people that I feared would give me painful feedback. Aren't we like that? Isn't it just a bit difficult for us to proceed when we think we've lost the favor of others? Just a bit tempting to think we really never had anything to offer in the first place.

Well, my husband and my friends have given me some beautiful feedback. Some of it, just to remember that everyone has a lot going on in their lives and even if their comments were directed at me, it's not all about me...

Yep, that gives me courage to face the day and to keep going back and remembering that what I can give them might be simply to not be afraid of them and keep encouraging even when I feel a little afraid. It all seems better after that. I realize how much I just love them and I'm glad they're in my life and I hope everything they are facing works out. If I can be a part of that, well, it's been a good day...and I can truly say it has.

Thank you for your sweeeet comments, they really helped me through this day too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.