Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Because, because, because...

...I had no idea what to blip out of a useless collection of snaps this evening.

(Tess is currently shouting 'Snap!' in my left ear *sigh*)

... I've been trying to get a good shot of some handsome tractor action. I love the way the fields look at the moment. There are ridges like a thick-knit pullover on one side and the multi-coloured patchwork fields on the other. The trouble is my camera only has a 4x zoom and the hills are in the distance (I know, a bad workman and all that...).

It all looks so much more alive when you can see the farmers in action. I find it hard to resist a little 'Brrmmmm' on behalf of our son who once loved tractors and is now too old to get excited - or allow himself to get excited - by tractors.

I snapped some lichen, some ridiculously leaning trees (tiz windy up yur), some bright red haw berries and a mysterious sticky-perhaps-egg-thingy in the grass. I also found a nettle growing through a piece of rusty machinery (they're dead hard them nettles) but everything was rubbish or mediocre.

... I asked our 16-year-old to cast her eyes swiftly over what I'd snapped and make an instinctive choice for me and this is the pic she chose. It's all about the colours and relevance to the season, she said (or words to that effect) and she's right, it's just so zoomed in and I wanted better!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.