Way of Life

By wayoflife

Man

ShinyDay had to take the d700 for work, so I was in charge of the d5000 for the day. It's so small and quiet I almost felt invisible, especially after I've been using the d700 and the 80-200mm bazooka combo for the last few weeks.

Anyway, on with the next part of the photographer and photographs that inspire me.

Part 3: Shinichiro Kobayashi

Part 4: Stephen Shore, Breakfast
Things. I like photos of things. The more banal the subject the better in my opinion because I think this is when photography can really surprise us. When we see a great photograph and the subject is part of the everyday, it shows how much we look but don't see. Stephen Shore's Breakfast is a great example of this.

Shore also likes street scenes. There's a good collection of his photos here. What attracts me to these shots is that unlike Daido Moriyama, Shore seems to de-emphasize the people in the places his visits. We know they are there, and we can see the results of their actions, but it is secondary to the view that Shore wants us to see. Perhaps I like them because they are so different to anything you can shoot here in Tokyo, or maybe it's all the lines, right-angles, and organization that attract me, but whatever it is, I can look at Shore's photographs over and over.

Part: 5 Bernd and Hilla Becher, Typologies

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.