The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Peep Show

This must be something of a record for me, three sunset photos followed by two sunrises. This could be the last of the warm, still, dry days for a while, so we have to make the most of it.

Bob the Cat has an uncanny knack of waking me early when there is going to be a good sunrise. So it was another quick scramble to get dressed and out - not forgetting to feed Bob, his real motive of course. This time I puffed up to the top of Arnside Knott to get a different perspective to yesterday. Like yesterday, the sun is rising over the right shoulder of Ingleborough, at this height the low limestone hills are more deeply layered.

Later in the morning Matt and I managed to fit in a couple of climbs in Trowbarrow quarry. Matt led the poorly protected Ramp Ant, which makes it a little more challenging than it would otherwise be. Then, since we weren't feeling hugely strong and confident, we dropped a top rope down Coral Sea, a VS and the only VS I have climbed this year. So at last back on rock after a few months of no climbing when the weather and other commitments haven't worked for us.

Thank you for all the comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's sunrise. I am sorry I am so far behind with commenting and thanking you individually. We were late back last night after seeing Julie Fowlis and her band. And what a superb evening that was. I couldn't understand a word of the Gaelic singing, but the songs sound so good in the language and the musicianship was first rate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.