Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

A bed of green

I had today to myself, so, cameras packed, boots on, and off I went to Woolshears Forest, about ten miles NW of Peebles. When I lived in West Linton, over a decade ago, and the family had a dog, this was a favourite haunt, but I have been only once since.

My intention was to take a good landscape photograph, and I messed about with the Nikon, tripod and remote release, but the truth was it was a dull day, and only close ups were likely to work. I did see four Roe Deer feeding, but they were too far away for my lenses, and they of course spotted me after a few minutes. I took a shortcut through the trees, following an old fire break where the droppings were evidence that the deer use it regularly.

It was drizzling slightly, but the intensity of colours in the beds of sphagnum moss were incredible, turning red in places and still bright, luminescent green in others, as above. If it had been drier, I could not have resisted lying down on this luscious bed of fresh green.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.