Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Glenpeggy

When this morning's torrential rain had almost stopped, I drove to nearby Cardrona Forest, where I've been walking for about 12 years. Apart from its convenience, being only 4 miles from the house, it has a wonderful selection of trails.

Today I decided to do the Glenpeggy Trail. At 7 1/2 miles, it is the longest of the waymarked trails at Cardona, and I had done it before, but in deep snow, when it took a little longer than today's 3 hours. It was incredibly muggy today and I was glad of space in my rucksack for my jacket as I was soon boiling as I slogged up the hill through the trees in a good Scotch mist. Reaching the southern edge of the forest, there was a little breeze and on top of the hill I was just below the cloud. Heading back down towards the Tweed Valley, I walked down into the mist - you can just see it along the trail.

Though the distant views were absent today (like yesterday) the colours of the mosses and ferns were strong and verdant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.